“There’s Got To Be Something Better Than In The Middle”

What’s So Wrong About Being Mediocre?

Kris Freeman
6 min readMay 25, 2020
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

Do you remember the popular song “One Headlight” by the Wallflowers? Dang, that song has been playing in my head over and over.

And it’s this one particular lyric, “There’s got to be something better than in the middle” that is DRIVING ME CRAZY!

What is it about needing to GO BIG or GO HOME that stops us from ever attempting to be comfortable and satisfied with playing life down the middle?

We are taught to believe that the “Middle” is boring and that it’s NOT the place where happiness exists. We are also told that mediocrity is for losers and that It is the extremes of life that are the coolest. Let’s face it NOTHING happens in the “Middle”. It is BLAH BLAH BLAH… BUT WAIT, what if this is one BIG FAT LIE?

In the past five years I’ve tried to GO BIG by following 2 multi-level marketing companies with the promise (at least in my head) that I would really “make it” (excuse me head, what does that really mean?).

I thought I would be able to passively earn income if I did the hard work to set the business up exactly the way they told me to. But here’s the thing I am not good at following the rules.

--

--

Kris Freeman

Falling Flat on My Face, Getting Up Again, And Asking “What IS Next? AND “What Else Is Possible That I’ve Refused to Consider?” krisfreeman983@gmail.com